Remember Who You Are

As another year comes to a close, it’s time to reflect. Are you thriving, or are you limping along? Perhaps you have learnt more about yourself in 2019 than ever before.

There comes a time in our lives where we need to look in the mirror and ask ourselves, “Who am I?”, and “What am I doing with my life?”

These big questions demand answers. I most certainly don’t claim to have it all together, but by the grace of God, I’m writing this post.

In our quest for identity and purpose, allow me to share with you a parallel between “The Lion King” film and the gospel (even if it’s a bit of a stretch). Having recently watched the tale of Simba, a lost lion, re-discovering his true self, I was inspired to write about it.

I would like to draw your attention to a profound scene between young Simba, and his late father, Mufasa. In the midst of an identity crisis and believing he is not worthy, Simba gets his mojo back. He is reminded by his inspiring father just who he is, and who he was made to be.

Mufasa appears to Simba in spirit from above, and here’s the magical interaction between the two:

Mufasa: Simba!
Simba: Dad?
Mufasa: Simba. You must take your place in the circle of life.
Simba: I can’t!
Mufasa: You must remember who you are. The one true king.
Simba: I’m sorry. I don’t know how to be like you.
Mufasa: As king, I was most proud of one thing. Having you as my son.
Simba: That was a long time ago.
Mufasa: No, Simba. That is forever.
Simba: Please, don’t leave me again!
Mufasa: I never left you, and never will. Remember who you are. Remember.

BOOM! This scene hits me to the core. Identity and purpose are restored in an instant. I can almost hear God almighty saying to each and every one of us:

“My child, do you know who are you?
Do you know that I live within you?
As your Father, I am most proud to call you mine.
I have made you a king. You must take your place. It’s who I created you to be. It’s my gift to you.
Do not be swayed by lies others say about you, but know and believe the love I have for you.
I have always been by your side, and I always will be. I will never leave you nor forsake you.”

Simba found his stripes and embraced his rightful place as king. His proud dad reminded him that he is awesome and more than a conquerer.

As sons and daughters of the King of Kings, we also ought to embrace our grace-given identity. It’s what Jesus paid for and it’s our inheritance as God’s beloved children.

Our proud Father is cheering us on and is routing for us. He loves and accepts us as we are (see Ephesians 1:6). He desires for us to be free and to conquer, not to be sorry victims wondering around aimlessly (see Romans 8:37). We were created to be victors! If He is for us, who can be against us?

Just as Simba received his dad’s approval, let your Heavenly Father’s approval rock your world. He loves you.

Stay tuned for Part 2 of this series which will be a jam-packed post of identity and Good News.

Grace and peace to you all.

Remember who you are

2 thoughts on “Remember Who You Are

Leave a comment